Academic year and key dates

Academic calendar 2017

The dates below are provided as a guideline. End dates may differ depending on your programme of study. Please contact your faculty for specific course dates.

These dates are for 2017 only.

Faculty of Business and Information Technology
Faculty of Business and Information Technology Summer School
Summer School Monday 9 January - Friday 10 February
Faculty of Business and Information Technology 8-week Quarters (Digital Technologies, Business and Tourism)
Quarter 1 Orientation Friday 17 February
Quarter 1 Monday 20 February - Friday 14 April
Break Monday 17 April - Friday 5 May
Quarter 2 Orientation Friday 5 May
Quarter 2 Monday 8 May - Friday 30 June
Break Monday 3 July - Friday 21 July
Quarter 3 Orientation Friday 21 July
Quarter 3 Monday 24 July - Friday 15 September
Break Monday 18 September - Friday 6 October
Quarter 4 Orientation Friday 6 October
Quarter 4 Monday 9 October - Friday 1 December
Faculty of Business and Information Technology Trimesters (Tourism, Business Administration and Contact Centre)
Trimester 1  Monday 23 January - Friday 21 April
Break Monday 24 April - Friday 5 May
Trimester 2 Monday 8 May - Friday 11 August
Break Monday 10 July - Friday 14 July
Monday 14 August - Friday 25 August
Trimester 3 Monday 28 August - Friday 1 December
Break Monday 2 October - Friday 6 October
Southern Cross University
Session 1 Monday 27 February - Saturday 10 June
Break Monday 12 June - Friday 7 July
Session 2 Monday 10 July - Saturday 21 October
Break Monday 23 October - Friday 3 November
Session 3 Monday 6 November - Saturday 10 February 2018
Faculty of Creative Arts
Orientation For more information about Orientation please contact your Faculty or Student Support Services team. 
Summer School  Monday 9 January - Friday 17 February
Semester 1 Monday 27 February - Friday 30 June
Break Monday 3 July - Friday 21 July
Semester 2 Monday 24 July - Friday 24 November
Faculty of Consumer Services
Orientation For more information about Orientation please contact your Faculty or Student Support Services team.
FCS Trimesters
Trimester 1 Monday 9 January - Friday 21 April
Break Monday 24 April - Friday 5 May
Trimester 2  Monday 8 May - Friday 25 August
Break Monday 10 July - Friday 14 July
Monday 28 August - Friday 1 September
Trimester 3 Monday 4 September - Friday 15 December
FCS Semester
Semester 1 Monday 13 February - Friday 30 June
Break Monday 1 May - Friday 5 May
Monday 3 July - Friday 21 July        
Semester 2 Monday 24 July - Friday 24 November
Faculty of Engineering and Trades
Orientation For more information about Orientation please contact your Faculty or Student Support Services team.
Semester 1 Monday 13 February - Friday 30 June* 
Mid-semester break Monday 17 April - Friday 28 April
Break Monday 3 July - Friday 21 July
Semester 2 Monday 24 July - Friday 8 December
Mid-semester break Monday 2 October - Friday 13 October**

* Professional Engineering commences Monday 20 February

** Professional Engineering and Plumbing courses = Monday 25 September - Friday 6 October

Faculty of Maritime and Logistics
Orientation For more information about Orientation please contact your Faculty or Student Support Services team.
Maritime
Block 1 Monday 9 January - Friday 22 December
Logistics
Block 1 Monday 9 January - Friday 14 April
Break Monday 17 April - Friday 28 April
Block 2 Monday 1 May - Friday 30 June
Break Monday 3 July - Friday 21 July
Block 3 Monday 24 July - Friday 29 September
Break Monday 2 October - Friday 13 October
Block 4 Monday 16 October - Friday 22 December
Faculty of Nursing and Health Sciences
Orientation For more information about Orientation please contact your Faculty or Student Support Services team.
Health Studies From Monday 30 January - Friday 8 December
Nursing From Tuesday 7 February - Friday 8 December
Dates vary for each course. Please view individual course dates here
Manukau Institute of Technology Holidays
Auckland Anniversary Day Monday 30 January
Waitangi Day  Monday 6 February
Easter Friday 14 April - Mon 17 April (inclusive)
ANZAC Day Tuesday 25 April
Queens Birthday  Monday 5 June
Labour Day Monday 23 October
End of year close Friday 22 December (midday)