Our leadership

Our leadership team

Our Chief Executive, Gus Gilmore is responsible for the strategic direction and management of the institute and has final responsibility for the management of all aspects of the institute.

Gus was appointed as the joint chief executive of MIT and Unitec in August 2020. Before this appointment, he was the Chief Executive of MIT, joining the organisation in September 2016.

The chief executive is advised by the Executive Leadership Team:

  • Prof Martin Carroll, DCE Academic
  • Peseta Sam Lotu-Iiga, DCE Pasifika, Partnerships and Support
  • Wiremu Manaia, DCE Māori
  • Simon Nash, DCE Learner Experience and Success
  • Kirsten Sargent, Acting DCE People and Culture
  • Nick Sheppard, DCE Schools and Performance
  • Michelle Teirney, DCE Operations

Our ELT is supported by our kaumatua, Vincent Hapi.

If you would like to make contact, email us directly at chiefexecutive@manukau.ac.nz or contact leadership support staff.

Our board

As at 1 April 2020 and in accordance with the Education Act 1989 as recently amended, Manukau Institute of Technology became a limited liability company (to be known as Manukau Institute of Technology Limited) and a wholly-owned subsidiary of the New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology (NZIST).

The Board of Directors of Manukau Institute of Technology Limited are:

  • Peter Winder – Chair
  • Monique Cairns
  • Ziena Jalil
  • Fale (Andrew) Lesa
  • Peter Parussini
  • Robert Reid
  • Steven Renata
  • Marama Royal

Further details are available here.


Antoinette wood
Email: antoinette.wood@manukau.ac.nz

Click here to see Board of Directors meeting schedules, minutes and papers.

MIT Leadership Team at a Leadership Day in 2020

MIT's wider leadership team at a Leadership Day in 2020