STCW Proficiency in Security Awareness Training

Who should attend

This training is for anyone who wants to achieve an STCW qualification.

Course highlights

This course provides students with the skills and knowledge to limit pollution and other health and safety risks when working on board a vessel. The course allows students to build their communication skills as applicable to shipboard duties and to relate well to other vessel staff including following safe working practices.

This course meets the requirements for STCW 78 as amended.

Key facts

Start Date(s)

Monday 23 January 2023

Monday 13 February 2023

Monday 6 March 2023

Monday 27 March 2023

Monday 12 June 2023

Monday 17 July 2023

Monday 14 August 2023

Monday 4 September 2023

Monday 2 October 2023

Monday, 20 November 2023

Monday 4 December  2023

Duration Half day
Time 8.30am – 11am
Study location(s) MIT Mahurangi
Study method In-class
Domestic fees $140 (approx.)
International fees (NZD) NZD$140 (approx.)
Course code 941.217
Offered by School of NZ Maritime

Entry requirements

Please supply the following prior to attendance:

  • Enrolment Form or Re-enrolment form
  • Attested Passport/Birth Certificate copy.

For more information, phone 0800 62 62 52 or enquire below.

Information is correct as at 7 February 2023. The fee quoted is an indicative short course fee. You will be advised of the current fees at the time of enrolment. Short courses stated as eligible for free study in 2023 are based on the 2022 fee structure and subject to funding confirmation for 2023. International Students holding an appropriate visa may enrol on this course. All short course fees are in New Zealand Dollars and inclusive of GST. Manukau Institute of Technology reserves the right to cancel or postpone a course with insufficient enrolments or for any other reason where cancellation is necessary before the course is planned to start. Manukau Institute of Technology is part of Te Pūkenga – New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology. Te Pukenga is accredited under the provisions of the Education and Training Act 2020.