STCW Basic Training

Who should attend

The training is for anyone who wants to achieve an STCW qualification.

Course highlights

This certificate includes the following 5 courses (modules):

STCW Elementary First Aid (Basic First Aid)

STCW Proficiency in Security Awareness Training

STCW Personal Survival Techniques (Basic Survival)

STCW Personal Safety and Social Responsibility (PSSR)

STCW Fire Fighting and Fire Prevention (Basic Fire Fighting)

For each course you complete you will be given an STCW certificate to certify you have completed your course. The Basic Training course meets the requirements for STCW 78 as amended.

Key facts

Start Date(s)

Monday 13 February – Tuesday 21 February 2023

Monday 6 March – Tuesday 14 March 2023

Monday 27 March – Tuesday 4 April 2023

Thursday 8 June – Friday 16 June 2023

Monday 17 July – Tuesday 25 July 2023

Monday 14 August – Tuesday 22 August 2023

Monday 4 September – Tuesday 12 September 2023

Monday 2 October – Tuesday 10 October 2023

Thursday 16 November - Friday 24 November 2023

Monday 4 December – Tuesday 12 December 2023

Duration 7 days to complete all 5 courses (not including the weekends)
Time 8.30am - 3.30pm (approx.)
Study location(s) MIT Mahurangi
Study method In-class
Domestic fees $2,495 (approx.)
International fees (NZD) NZD$2,495 (approx.)
Course code See individual courses for course codes
Offered by School of NZ Maritime

Entry requirements

Refer to each individual course for entry requirements.

For more information, phone 0800 62 62 52 or enquire below.

Information is correct as at 7 February 2023. The fee quoted is an indicative short course fee. You will be advised of the current fees at the time of enrolment. Short courses stated as eligible for free study in 2023 are based on the 2022 fee structure and subject to funding confirmation for 2023. International Students holding an appropriate visa may enrol on this course. All short course fees are in New Zealand Dollars and inclusive of GST. Manukau Institute of Technology reserves the right to cancel or postpone a course with insufficient enrolments or for any other reason where cancellation is necessary before the course is planned to start. Manukau Institute of Technology is part of Te Pūkenga – New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology. Te Pukenga is accredited under the provisions of the Education and Training Act 2020.