New Zealand Maritime Calendar

The dates below are provided as a guideline only and end dates may differ depending on your programme of study.

Please contact the Ask Me! Student Services City team for specific course dates.

AskMe! City Contact Information
Phone: 0800 744 722 or 09 379 4997
Email: maritime@manukau.ac.nz

2020 dates
Domestic maritime

New Zealand Certificate in Domestic Maritime Crewing (Level 3)

IntakesDates
Rolling Intakes All Year

New Zealand Certificate in Maritime Crewing (Level 3) Superyacht Crewing

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 20 January – Friday 10 April
Intake 2 Monday 17 February – Friday 8 May

New Zealand Certificate in Domestic Maritime Operations (Coastal and Offshore) (Level 4)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 6 April – Friday 16 October

New Zealand Certificate in Domestic Maritime Operations (Skipper Restricted Limits) (Level 4)

IntakesDatesOn-site attendance
Intake 1 Monday 9 March - Friday 18 September Monday 24 August - Friday 18 September
Intake 2 Monday 25 May - Friday 4 December Monday 9 November - Friday 4 December
Intake 3 Friday 28 August - Friday 5 March 2021 Monday 8 February - Friday 5 March 2021
Intake 4 Monday 21 September  - Friday 2 April 2021 Monday 8 March - Monday 5 April 2021

New Zealand Certificate Maritime Operations with Strands in Fishing and Watchkeeping (Level 4)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 18 May – Friday 25 September
Intake 2 Monday 8 June – Friday 16 October

New Zealand Certificate in Maritime Operations (Level 5)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 18 May – Friday 25 September
Intake 2 Monday 8 June – Friday 16 October
Intake 3 Monday 8 June – Friday 26 March 2021

New Zealand Diploma in Yacht Operations (Level 6) Optional Strand in Master Yacht

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 6 April – Friday 22 January 2021
Intake 2 Monday 18 May – Friday 5 March 2021
Nautical foreign-going

New Zealand Certificate in Maritime Crewing (Level 4) with a strand in Deck Crew

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 3 February – Friday 12 June
Intake 2 Monday 6 July – Friday 13 November

New Zealand Diploma in Nautical Science (Level 6)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 3 February – Friday 20 November

Diploma in Foreign-Going Master or Chief (Level 7) (Master Foreign-Going)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 20 January – Friday 30 October
Marine engineering

New Zealand Certificate in Marine Engineering Class 6 (Level 4) with optional strand in Marine Engineering Class 5

 Intakes*DatesOn-site attendance
MEC 6 Intake 1 Monday 20 January – Friday 19 June Monday 15 June - Friday 19 June
Intake 2 Monday 11 May – Friday 9 October Monday 21 September - Friday 9 October
MEC 5 Intake 1 Monday 20 January - Friday 17 July Monday 29 June - Friday 17 July
Intake 2 Monday 12 October - Friday 13 NovemberMonday 12 October - Friday 13 November

*If you are working or have experience in the industry and you have completed your MNZ training record book, you may be able to apply for an intake at any point up until the start of the on-site attendance date.

New Zealand Certificate in Maritime Crewing (Level 4) with a strand in Engineering

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 3 February – Friday 12 June
Intake 2 Monday 6 July – Friday 13 November

New Zealand Diploma in Marine Engineering (Level 6)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 3 February – Friday 20 November

Diploma in Foreign-Going Master or Chief (Level 7) (Master Foreign-Going)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 20 January – Friday 30 October
Electro-technology

New Zealand Certificate in Maritime Crewing (Level 4) with a strand in Electro-technology

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 3 February – Friday 12 June
Intake 2 Monday 6 July – Friday 13 November

New Zealand Diploma in Marine Electro-Technology (Level 6)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 3 February – Friday 20 November
Yachting

New Zealand Certificate in Maritime Crewing (Level 3) Superyacht Crewing

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 20 January – Friday 10 April
Intake 2  Monday 2 March – Friday 29 May
Intake 3 Monday 8 June – Friday 4 September
Intake 4 Monday 14 September – Friday 11 December

New Zealand Diploma in Yacht Operations (Level 6) Optional Strand in Master Yacht

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 6 April – Friday 22 January 2021
Intake 2 Monday 18 May – Friday 5 March 2021
Intake 3 Monday 8 June – Friday 26 March 2021
2021 dates
Domestic maritime

New Zealand Certificate in Domestic Maritime Crewing (Level 3)

IntakesDates
Rolling Intakes All Year

New Zealand Certificate in Domestic Maritime Operations (Coastal and Offshore) (Level 4)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 12 April – Friday 16 July

New Zealand Certificate in Domestic Maritime Operations (Skipper Restricted Limits) (Level 4)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 8 March – Friday 17 September
Intake 2 Monday 10 May – Friday 19 November

New Zealand Certificate Maritime Operations with Strands in Fishing and Watchkeeping (Level 4)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 12 April  – Friday 13 August

New Zealand Certificate in Maritime Operations (Level 5)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 17 May – Friday 20 August (Master Fishing Vessel Limited)
Intake 2 Monday 17 May  – Friday 27 August (Master 500GT NC)
Nautical foreign-going

New Zealand Certificate in Maritime Crewing (Level 4) with a strand in Deck Crew

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 1 February – Friday 11 June

New Zealand Diploma in Nautical Science (Level 6)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Tuesday 2 February - Friday 26 November

Diploma in Foreign-Going Master or Chief (Level 7) (Master Foreign-Going)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Tuesday 2 February - Friday 29 October
Marine engineering

New Zealand Certificate in Marine Engineering Class 6 (Level 4) with optional strand in Marine Engineering Class 5

Intakes*Dates
Intake 1 Monday 18 January – Friday 13 August
Intake 2 Monday 10 May – Friday 3 December
Intake 3 Monday 16  August – Friday 11 March 2021

*If you are working or have experience in the industry and you have completed your MNZ training record book, you may be able to apply for an intake at any point up until the start of the on-site attendance date.

New Zealand Certificate in Maritime Crewing (Level 4) with a strand in Engineering

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 1 February – Friday 11 June

New Zealand Diploma in Marine Engineering (Level 6)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 1 February – Friday 26 November

Diploma in Foreign-Going Master or Chief (Level 7) (Master Foreign-Going)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 2 February  – Friday 12 November
Electro-technology

New Zealand Certificate in Maritime Crewing (Level 4) with a strand in Electro-technology

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Tuesday 2 February – Friday 4 June

New Zealand Diploma in Marine Electro-Technology (Level 6)

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 1 February – Friday 26 November
Yachting

New Zealand Certificate in Maritime Crewing (Level 3) Superyacht Crewing

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 25 January – Friday 16 April
Intake 2 Monday 1 March  – Friday 21 May
Intake 3 Monday 14 June – Friday 3 September
Intake 4 Monday 20 September – Friday 10 December

New Zealand Diploma in Yacht Operation (Level 6) Chief Mate Yacht

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 12 April – Friday 24 September 2021

New Zealand Diploma in Yacht Operations (Level 6) Optional Strand in Master Yacht

IntakesDates
Intake 1 Monday 17 May – Friday 6 August (including Stability)
Intake 2 Monday 6 September (for online stability before contact course) – Friday 26 November
Intake 3
(part-time - online)
Monday 8 February – Friday 26th November
Online options for Stability, business and Law, Command Seamanship and Meteorology